Living in London

london life

 

I’m almost one year living in London, and these are some things that I learnt since I came here.

  1. I’m able to open a tin of tuna with dignity. I wasn’t, the fact that the 80% of the tins of tuna didn’t have any easy-opening was very challenging, but I got it, I’m a new person, superb for me.

2. Go to the toilet before you leave any place, even if you feel that don’t have to go, just go. That was something that my mum used to tell me when I was a child, but even if you think your commute is going to be short, just in case, you don’t want to go to any of those public ones.

3. If you don’t have understood something correctly, or you think what you’ve understood is too crazy or nasty or naughty,  probably they are telling you something about how funny was when they were in Mallorca or Benidorm or wherever, honestly, just smile, you don’t want to know too much about it.

4. You don’t want to be a bad person, but you don’t want to be standing  45 minutes on the tube either. London makes you wise, and it helps you to develop your capabilities: Observe and take action.

5. I’m a scout, so I used to say “be prepared” every time greeting, but I wasn’t prepared. In London, you have to.  You have to carry your house with you every time you leave. For instance, I used to carry with me an umbrella, a raincoat, a cardigan, a deodorant, a pair of socks, a notebook, a book, some food, a bottle of water and my phone charger.  You never know, you could have an accident, or you could be suddenly in the middle of a zombie attack.

Besides, I’ve learnt that is important don’t go to sleep to other people houses if they live more than 1 hour from yours.  You will have to go back next day with the hangover and seeing other people faces in the tube, I can tell you, it’s not nice at all.

 

🙂

Leave a comment