Unnecessary things.

the craft

Things that are not necessary: The remake or a sequel of The Craft.

The Craft was the film that opened my mind when I was just ten years old. It was the first movie that I went to watch with my girlfriends without any supervision, and after we watch it, becoming a witch was one of our priorities. I know it sounds crazy, but the 90’s were the years of the darkness and the witchcraft, the Grunge, and the hard drugs like the heroin.

I grew up in the 90’s, I’m not part of the X generation, though, my generation is the Y one or Millenials how they like to call us. Despite the fact I’m not part of the coolest generation ever, being born in 1987 had brought me many experiences that the X generation had, but also the experiences of the pure millennials, as an old Millenial, we are in between the two, I think, so that’s why I can confirm that is not necessary at all any remake of this great film.

The movie was perfectly contextualised in the time that was filmed. The characters showed some of the problems that teenage women were facing at the moment, such as racism, sexism, sexuality. In a context from the 90’s the issues were showed throughout the eyes of four women, with different backgrounds and personal problems, and using the witchcraft as a way of empowerment that would help them to leave behind the things that were making them suffer. If you have seen the film (sorry spoilers) you know that they are not able to control the powers they receive and everything turns out dark and awful, but despite this, and with the right contextualisation, I believe it is a good film.

If I have to figure out how could be a film like that nowadays, even if it is a sequel, I can’t. Probably it will be something between pretty little liars and American horror story Coven, and I loved the last one but in my modest opinion it is unnecessary and a waste of time and money. We are different generations, and it is not possible to understand the context if you are out of it.

Do you remember what happened with Jurassic Park sequel? Another film entirely unnecessary.

Please, people from Hollywood don’t do it, stop destroying my childhood, use your creativity, you are beeing paid for it.

Leave a comment